Teen Age Experience   Leave a comment

It was about 1956 when I landed in Windsor Ontario after hitch hiking or  bus riding several  thousand miles as a runaway from home with a school friend.  First staying with a kind brother of my friend, then residing in the YMCA, it was not a great experience.

Seeking employment, as a temporary worker I stood in a pit below cars as they moved through a car wash, engines running, to wash their wheels etc.  I became violently ill no doubt from carbon monoxide poisoning though I had no idea of the cause at the time.

Next, I hitch-hiked out of town in the dead of winter to Aylmer, Ont.,  having heard about jobs in agriculture there.  Somehow I never got there, ending up on a lonely highway trying to return to town on a freezing night.  I found a closed gas station with an outdoor lou that had one little  infra-red bulb.  So I was able to gain a little warmth while  listening for very rare traffic.  Finally I ran out and thumbed a ride with a young Canadian Navy officer who took me all the way back to the outskirts of Windsor.  He advised me the navy was a good life.  Perhaps that’s what influenced me to join the navy just a few years later. 

Although he offered to take me back to town, I chose to walk several miles from the outskirts of Windsor in freezing temperatures back to the YMCA that night.  Another experience I’ll never forget.

Posted March 5, 2013 by New2view in historical, humanity, life, philosophy

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

