Air Canada flight 831 disaster   Leave a comment

On the news tonight It was the 50th anniversary of Air Canada flight 831 crash after taking off from Montreal in 1963… all 118 were killed.

I was booked to be on that flight, weeks ahead, it was a connecting flight from Halifax to B.C.  But while celebrating (honorable) release from the RCN (Royal Canadian Navy) in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada, I made a last minute decision in the late afternoon to cancel, and re-book for another flight very early the next morning.

When I arrived at the Air Canada desk the next morning, the staff had just arrived and nervously whispered glancing at me while I waited for ground transportation.  I thought I must have revealed some evidence of late night partying.?  Completely unbeknown to me, apparently, they had just learned of the crash and realized I had been booked on it, many days in advance.

In my case this is just trivia now of course, but as Solomon so well said it “…time and unforeseen events overtake them all.” (Eccl. 9:11)

Our lives are so limited by circumstances we have no control over, I most truly sympathize with those who lost family members on flight 831, but thankfully we all still have hope to see loved ones in the future provided we exercise faith in the loving ransom of Christ Jesus… while that opportunity still exits. (please visit JW.org)

Leave a Reply

